Today is the first day of a new way of living for myself and my wife as we start the Paleo Diet. This wasn’t a spur of the moment decision, it was one that I made with a great deal of thinking and researching before making this move. Paleo is a hunter-gatherer type of diet, you cut out glutens, diary, sugars and processed foods, and focus more on a balanced diet. To quote Robb Wolf on his website:

The Paleo diet is simple yet remarkably effective for fat loss and halting or preventing a number of degenerative diseases. To reap the benefits of the most effective nutritional strategy known, one need simply build meals from the following:

  • Lean proteins (ideally) grass fed meat, free range fowl and wild caught fish 
  • Seasonal fruits and vegetables
  • Healthy fats such as nuts, seeds, avocado, olive oil, and coconut oil For me, it means no more processed foods and no dairy products or breads. I drive 60 kilometres each way everyday to my office and back, so it was just convenient to hit a drive thru at some point. Now, I won’t be doing that, as I put my focus on eating healthier and being healthier. It’s also eating food I enjoy eating already. If you’re interested,

click this link to see my first week’s meal plan.

**Interested Reading:**  - [The Paleo Solution: The Original Human Diet – Robb Wolf](http://www.amazon.com/exec/obidos/ASIN/0982565844/phpprof-20) ([kindle](http://www.amazon.com/exec/obidos/ASIN/B00466H5MU/phpprof-20)) - [The Primal Blueprint – Mark Sisson](http://www.amazon.com/exec/obidos/ASIN/0982207700/phpprof-20) ([kindle](http://www.amazon.com/exec/obidos/ASIN/B003GY0K2K/phpprof-20)) **Podcasts**  - [Latest in Paleo](http://itunes.apple.com/podcast/latest-in-paleo-podcast/id417736572) - [The Paleo Solution](http://itunes.apple.com/us/podcast/robb-wolf-the-paleo-solution/id340221970)
**General information from the experts in the field:**  - [Rob Wolf’s Paleo FAQ](http://robbwolf.com/faq/) - [Mark Sisson’s Primal Blueprint 101](http://www.marksdailyapple.com/primal-blueprint-101/) - [Paleo Diet FAQ](http://www.thepaleodiet.com/faqs/) - [Getting Started](http://www.paleonu.com/get-started/) - [Ancestral Life Way](http://freetheanimal.com/ancestral-life-way) **Forums**  - [Mark’s Daily Apple Forums](http://www.marksdailyapple.com/forum/forum.php) - [Robb Wolf’s Forums](http://robbwolf.com/forum/)
**Paleo/Primal foodie blogs:**  - [Primal Palate](http://www.primal-palate.com/) - [Every Day Paleo](http://everydaypaleo.com/) - [Nom Nom Paleo](http://nomnompaleo.com/) - [Best Paleo Pancake Recipe](http://hivelogic.com/articles/best-paleo-pancake-recipe/)